Boards and Committees

Scientific and Ethics Advisory Board (SEAB)

The SEAB, composed of scientists and other stakeholders in the research carried out in SECURE, will have the role to advise the consortium on ethical issues, the general scientific orientation and progress of the project, and the optimal exploitation of the research results.
They will provide important advice and recommendations regarding the decisions to be taken by the consortium. All advisors will be appointed by and report to the partners. The project will also benefit from their advice in important fields connected with the study on which they are considered experts.

The following persons form part of the SEAB panel:

Valentin Fuster, CNIC, Madrid, Spain (Chair)
Jose M. Castellano CNIC, Madrid, Spain
Sameer Bansilal Mount Sinai, New York, USA
Borja Ibáñez, CNIC, Madrid, Spain
Antonio Fernández Ortiz, Hospital Clínico San Carlos, Madrid, Spain
Stuart Pocock, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK
Keith Fox, University of Edinburgh, UK
Deepak Bhatt, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, USA
Simon Thom, National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College, London, UK
Niteesh Choudhry, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, USA
Héctor Bueno, Hospital Gregorio Marañón, Madrid, Spain

 Data Safety and Monitoring Board (DSMB)

The DSMB involves the following persons:

Frans van de Werf, University Hospital Leuven, Belgium (Chair)
Pablo Perel, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK
Moises Rodríguez Mañero, Hospital Universitario Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Tom Godec, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK

Clinical Events Committee (CEC)

The CEC is composed of the following members:

Alberto Cordero - Cardiologist, Hospital Sant Joan de Alicante, Alicante, Spain (Chair)
Nicolás López Hernández - Neurologist, Hospital General de Alicante, Alicante, Spain
Thomas Cuisset - Cardiologist, La Timone Hospital, Marseille, France
Paola Santalucia - Cardiologist, Ospedale Maggiore Policlinico, Milano, Italy
Ettore Beghi - Head of the Laboratory for Neurological Diseases, Istituto Mario Negri, Milano, Italy
Tabassome Simon - Cardiologist, Saint Antoine Hospital, Paris, France
Michael Aschermann - Cardiologist, General University Hospital in Prague, Czech Republic
Mikkel Malby Schoos - Cardiologist, Roskilde Hospital, University of Copenhagen, Denmark